Government And Society Constitutional framework

Government And Society Constitutional framework

Panama has a popularly elected, representative system of government with executive, legislative, and judicial branches. Universal suffrage was instituted in 1907, and Panamanians 18 years of age and older are eligible to vote.

After a coup by the National Guard in 1968, the national legislature was suspended, and Panama was administered by a provisional government led by Gen. Omar Torrijos. A new constitution in 1972, the fourth in Panama’s history, gave Torrijos virtually complete control over the government but also established an elected body, the National Assembly of Municipal Representatives. The constitution was amended in 1978 to provide for a gradual return to democratic government within six years. Further constitutional amendments were approved in 1983, but democracy did not return to Panama until 1990, following the removal of Torrijos’s successor, Gen. Manuel Antonio Noriega Morena.

Under the constitutional revision of 1983, executive power is exercised by the president, who is popularly elected for a nonrenewable five-year term. The president was assisted by two vice presidents—also popularly elected for nonrenewable five-year terms—until 2009, when the second vice presidential position was eliminated. The president appoints a cabinet. A unicameral National Assembly consists of 71 members, who are elected for five-year terms and are eligible for reelection. The assembly initiates legislation, rules on international treaties, approves the budget, and establishes political divisions. After the 2014 election nearly one-fifth of the seats were held by women. read more Click Here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *